Join or Renew Online

You can now subscribe and join online - please click here

Changes to Scottish Conservative shadow cabinet

The Scottish Conservatives have announced changes to the shadow cabinet, and the appointment of two vice chairs.

The update follows the resignation as leader of Ruth Davidson last week.

The new shadow cabinet is as follows:

Interim Leader – Jackson Carlaw MSP


Deputy Leader and Shadow Cabinet Secretary Justice – Liam Kerr MSP

Community Safety and Veterans Affairs – Maurice Corry MSP


Chief Whip, Shadow Cabinet Secretary Climate Change, Environment, Land Reform

Maurice Golden MSP


Shadow Cabinet Secretary Finance – Murdo Fraser MSP

Taxation – Bill Bowman MSP
Financial Sustainability – Tom Mason MSP


Shadow Cabinet Secretary Education and Skills – Liz Smith MSP

Further Education, Higher Education and Science – Oliver Mundell MSP
Children and Young People – Alison Harris MSP


Shadow Cabinet Secretary Europe and External Affairs – Donald Cameron MSP


Shadow Cabinet Secretary Constitutional Relations – Adam Tomkins MSP


Shadow Cabinet Secretary Economy, Jobs and Fair Work – Dean Lockhart MSP

Business, Innovation and Energy, Deputy Chief Whip – Alexander Burnett MSP
Jobs, Employability and Skills – Jamie Halcro Johnston MSP


Trade, Investment and Legal Affairs – Gordon Lindhurst MSP


Shadow Cabinet Secretary Health and Sport – Miles Briggs MSP

Mental Health, Public Health and Equalities – Annie Wells MSP
Sport and Wellbeing – Brian Whittle MSP


Shadow Cabinet Secretary Culture and Tourism – Rachael Hamilton MSP


Shadow Cabinet Secretary Communities & Social Security – Michelle Ballantyne MSP

Welfare, Disability and Older People – Jeremy Balfour MSP 
Housing and Planning – Graham Simpson MSP
Local Government, International Development and Migration – Alexander Stewart MSP


Shadow Cabinet Secretary Rural Economy – Peter Chapman MSP

Rural Affairs and the Islands – Edward Mountain MSP

Natural Environment and the Digital Economy – Finlay Carson MSP


Shadow Cabinet Secretary Transport, Infrastructure & Connectivity – Jamie Greene MSP


Vice Chairmen of the Scottish Conservative Party – Kirstene Hair MP and Miles Briggs MSP


Scottish Parliamentary Corporate Body – Ruth Davidson MSP



Scottish Conservative interim leader Jackson Carlaw said:

“Ruth’s departure of course necessitated some immediate changes.

“But it also presents an opportunity to bring forward Generation Ruth – people who were persuaded to get into politics because of her leadership.

“This move demonstrates the breadth of talent and experience within the Scottish Conservative team.

“Now the focus of not just the shadow cabinet but the whole Scottish Conservative group will be to continue to hold the SNP to account in Holyrood, and fight tooth and nail for Scotland’s place in the UK.”


Go to top

uk bg